The Eyes of Mares Sneak Peak by Rocky Rochford

A special preview of the upcoming release from Special Guest ROCKY ROCHFORD

The Eye of Mares – Part 20

ROTE - Eye of Mares Revised Cover Art

Chapter Five

News from Afar

The Watcher’s academy was a new structure, consisting of two storeys. The downstairs housed two classrooms, a recreation room, a large practice room, and an armoury, home to much of Mako’s prized weaponry. The upstairs held bedrooms and washrooms.

In the northernmost classroom, Mako resided behind his grand desk. In front of him were ten desks, divided into three rows. Charts, maps and more adorned the walls.  Instead of looking at a map, a book or any other type of documents to occupy himself, Mako preferred to gaze directly at his pupils. Each one sat with straight backs and lowered heads as they scribbled their answers onto parchment.

Mako would have liked to have been able to leave the room and carry out other, more pressing matters, but he knew if he were to do so that Damien would only try to disrupt his classmates and cause them all to fail and leave him alone to pass.

Every one of the seven students had been eagerly anticipating this week of exams. If they passed, they would ascend to the lofty rank of Watcher’s Apprentice. They would no longer be mere students. Damien greatly desired the rise in rank, as it would make him equal with Zach by title. As usual, Damien and his gang occupied the four desks furthest away from Mako, sitting in their usual order, Damien in one corner, Blaze in the other, with Avi and Thor in between them.

In the row in front of them, Kazza and Davidos sat…


****Here concludes todays Page****


Be sure to check out the continuing blogs to watch the story continue, or pick up a copy direct from Amazon: The Eye of Mares – Out now!

You could even let the adventure continue and check out its prequel, where the story began and the series was created: The Spirit of Iris – Out now!

****Book specifics****

Author: Rocky Rochford

Illustrator: Ashleigh Longman

Title: The Eye of Mares

Series: Book 2 of the Rise of the Elohim Chronicles

Genre: Illustrated YA fantasy adventure

Book Content Rating: Suitable for ages 12 and up

Tag-line: “Darkness has many forms and Mares is its playground.”


Nearly four years have passed since Zach drew blade against the Shanzi Shimay and now the time has come for him to draw his sword once more. The Realm of Mares has fallen victim to invasion as three terrifying beasts of darkness, seek to destroy the world around them, as they await the inevitable arrival of their King.

With dark times ahead, the numbers of the Watchers on Iris has grown, as Zach is joined by seven fellow students, all too eager to prove their worth. It’s not long before the students are put to the test facing off against the Nein Navy and uncover a dark secret.

The stage is set and the Battle for Mares is under-way. 

Author Shot - Rocky Rochford 2015

Rocky Rochford Biography

Rocky Rochford is your standard guy, if your standard guy scuba dives, partakes in underwater photographer and is a wake-boarding, adventure seeking, sword collecting, marine conservation supporter. After living life on the road and the places between, he finally settled down but not without benefiting from all the lessons life had to teach him.

Self-professed “Student of Everything, and Master of Nothing,” Rochford does not choose what he writes, but writes what chooses him, be it fantasy, crime, poetry, philosophy or even adventure. Life is a journey we all get to experience, just like a good book.

Every read into another of his typed works is another trip into the imagination of his mixed up, crazed and deranged mind and this year along those works include the likes of full novels and novellas such as:

London Calling

London Calling – a Deep Water Novel (Spy Thriller)

Don’t Even Blink – Part of the Don’t Turn Around Trilogy (Horror)

Wait and Bleed

Wait and Bleed – The Don’t Turn Around Collection (Horror collection of the entire Don’t Trilogy)

And now The Eye of Mares – Book 2 of the Rise of the Elohim Chronicles (Illustrated YA fantasy adventure)

Other works released by him, are a number of short stories pertaining to horror, paranormal and romance, as well as other works released as part of an anthology:

The Devil You Know (Paranormal short)

Salt in the Wound – Part of the Entwined Saga (Paranormal short)

The Food of Love (featuring Him & Her) – An Anthology by Solstice Publishing (Romance filled Anthology)

Him & Her (Romance Standalone release)

Don’t Say A Word (Horror)

Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep Volume II (featuring The Devil Before) – An Anthology by the Solstice Shadows (Paranormal themed Anthology)

Awethology Dark (featuring Ghosts) – An Anthology by the #Awethors (Adult stories pertaining to a darker theme)

The December Awethology Dark Volume (featuring Seven Years Bad Luck) – An Anthology by the #Awethors (Adult stories pertaining to a darker theme, set around December)

****Welcome to the World of Rochford****


Social Media Links:

Rocky Rochford’s website:




Amazon page:

Rochford writes a little something for everyone, so if Mares isn’t your cup of tea, you can guarantee one of his many other works certainly is!


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s