Genre: Horror
Length: 132 Pages
Publisher: Sinister Grin Press
Release date: September 30, 2018
Synopsis:

A campfire in the distance should be a relief to a victim on the run, but instead, it signals darkness and the doorway to evil….

When Liz accepts a ride from a stranger, she ultimately becomes the victim of a heinous crime. After fighting off her attacker, she stumbles towards a campfire in the distance and onto the scene of a violent murder. The terror of discovering a decapitated young woman is only the beginning, as when the shadows begin to move, she finds that this new killer has set his sights on her. He wants her to share in an autumn fire.

Meanwhile local law enforcement, along with a secret group of town founders, are working to solve the murders and end to the autumn fires. Can they stop the perpetrator in time before he gets to Liz? The ancestors have centuries of wisdom on their side, and yet, will it be enough to stop a murderer calling upon the power of demons to guide him? After generations of hiding, will their identity be revealed to the unsuspecting citizens of Twin Lakes?

From the Bram Stoker nominated authors of Mayan Blue comes a new tale woven to introduce you to the creepiest of towns. For fans of Twin Peaks, Wayward Pines, or the new Castle Rock, this one is sure to draw you in.

Review copy provided in exchange for an honest review

It’s been a while since reading the Sisters of Slaughter, so Twin Lakes: Autumn Fires felt like a great chance to revisit these ladies of horror. They set up a good mystery and I liked the premise. There were some interesting characters, like the cops, Linda and Earl, probably my favorites. Our main character Liz needed more explanation about what was happening during her time at the hospital, and in general she felt under developed. I would have loved to have seen her supernatural aspects better conveyed. My least favorite characters were Julie and Deana, particularly at the restaurant, plus the conversations with her mom were awkward and clunking. This was not the smooth, easy, and enjoyable reading I have come to expect from Melissa and Michelle. When I read Mayan Blue, released a few years back, I loved the complete feel of the mystery. the character development was strong and an overall story telling was superior. This was the experience I had hoped to find in Twin Lakes: Autumn Fires. Unfortunately, the story wasn’t engaging enough and I didn’t connect well with the characters.

Link to purchase Twin Lakes: Autumn Fires

Biographies-

Michelle Garza and Melissa Lason are a twin sister writing team from Arizona. They have been writing together since they were little girls and have been dubbed the Sisters of Slaughter for writing a mixture of horror, sci-fi, and fantasy. They’ve been published by Sinister Grin Press, JEA/Wetworks, Thunderstorm Books, Bloodshot Books, Eraserhead Press, and Fireside Press. Their debut novel Mayan Blue was released by Sinister Grin Press, earning a nomination for a Bram Stoker Award. Silverwood: The Door recently released with Brian Keene, Richard Chizmar, and Stephen Kozeniewski, which is a serial horror story put out through Serialbox, the HBO of literature. Check the sister writing duo out on Amazon for more details about their other projects and find them on Twitter or their Facebook Author Page.

Would you like to feature?

If you would like to review Twin Lakes or feature the Sisters of Slaughter with an interview for a media publication/blog, please e-mail Erin Al-Mehairi, publicist, at hookofabook@hotmail.com.

Advertisements